Wallet Help

Setting up Debts and Loans

The Debts feature is ideal for recording personal loans, whether you've lent money to someone or borrowed from them. With this feature you can handle various aspects of your loans, including setting due dates. The app sends reminders for upcoming due dates, assisting you in avoiding late payments.

The Debts feature enables you to track loan repayments efficiently. Record each payment to monitor the amount repaid and the remaining balance. You can mark debts as closed upon full repayment or forgiven debts. You can easily view both active and closed debts, providing a comprehensive overview of your personal loan history.

Keep in mind that the Debts feature is intended for managing simple personal loans. For more complex debts like mortgages or bank loans, it is recommended to set up a mortgage account.

How to setup your Debts or Loans

Android

  1. Select '≡' in the top left
  2. Select 'Debt'
  3. Create a new Debt by tapping the '+' button in the bottom right.
  4. Select a type: 1. Lent 2. Borrowed: Borrowed money must also include the type ' From someone' or ' Bank Loan, Credit card'
  5. Select the debt you created
  6. Add a record tap the blue '+ Add Record' button
  7. Select or create a new record
    • Select Record: For Bank connected accounts if the transactions already exists.
    • Create new Record: Only possible for manual accounts.
  8. Save it and the record will change the remaining amount.

iOS

Not available Share your feedback, feature suggestions or improvements

Web App

Not available Share your feedback, feature suggestions or improvements

I lent money

If you have lent money you will have to fill in the details.

I borrowed money

If you have borrowed from someone please follow it here.

Loans from a Bank or Credit Card or Mortgage - Please refer to this article mortgage

Debt and Loans Options

Edit, Forgive, Close or Delete the Debt

  1. Select your debt or loan
  2. In the top right select the 3 dots
  3. Select Close, Edit, Forgive or Delete Debt - Close Debt - Only visible to__Borrowed__debts, Will close the debt and forget about it. Still visible in closed debts
    • Edit Debt - Edit the debt if there was a mistake or something changed
    • Delete Debt - Will fully remove the debt and it will not be visible in the closed debts section.
    • Forgive Debt - Only visible if you__lent__to someone else - Ever had a friend invite you for coffee instead of paying you back? Now you can forgive the debt without altering your account balance. Once forgiven, the debt will be moved to the 'Closed' section.
Related articles
Adding an Account
Archiving an account vs. Exclude from statistics — what's the difference?
Everything about Premium
Everything About Transactions (Add, edit, clone, split, duplicates)
Getting Started with Wallet

Didn't find what you need? Contact support